Writing Prompt: Day 219

219.jpgDay 219 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about finding an unknown substance.

Shannon: The smell inside the cave was so strong, I didn’t know if I could bear to go any farther, but I had to find the source. Though the smell was awful, it was original. I couldn’t pinpoint any item even remotely close to what it could be, and I was sure I could never replicate it.

After a long stretch I saw a glow ahead of me, and figured someone had already beat me to the discovery. Though I was disappoint, I wanted see what this person found. Maybe I could help them analyze it. When I got the room my plans changed.

The rock-like substances were glowing. The light wasn’t coming from a person. The cave ground looked as if it had collected a swarm of fallen stars. When I want to pick one up it, the rock repelled away as if my skin was magnet.

Erin: I walked into my last hotel room of the day. To say I was shocked would be a drastic understatement. The purple was everywhere. It was some sort of goo. The slim was not staining or soaking into the fabric though. I scanned my cart to make sure I had the proper tools for such a massive job. I scooped a little on my fingertip. When I put it to my nose there was no scent. I started to speculate but then recited the moto of the cleaning staff, “I’d rather not know.”

What is that, or what does your character think it is?

Leave a Reply

