Writing Prompt: Day 218

218.jpgDay 218 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Start with the line, “You know how to make a splash.”

Shannon: “You know how to make a splash,” the guy sitting in the desk behind me commented before I could get up to leave.

“I’m sorry, I know I ask too many questions, but I want to understand. I came from a small town and our school was different. Apparently, participation isn’t normal over here?” I bit my bottom lip.

“No, don’t be sorry,” he shook his head. “It’s a struggle enough to get people to care, I think you made Mrs. May’s day,” he pointed over to her, with a big smile. “And yes, until the rest of the class gets used to this, you might want to slow down a little, but don’t stop. I like your questions.”

It felt good to hear him say that, but I couldn’t help but wonder, “You must have some too, or at least something to add. You could join,” I lifted a shoulder.

He got up and looked at me as he grabbed his book from the desk, “That’s the plan.”

Erin: “You know how to make a splash,” my boss encouraged.

“We are 8% higher in price than our competitor. Getting this business is impossible,” I challenged.

“You have worked her for 12 years Linda. I’ve know you enough to know that nothing is impossible for you.”

I knew that he was wrong, but I also knew that if anyone had that faith in my I didn’t want to prove them wrong. “We’re getting this account.”

Make a splash with your day’s writing.

Leave a Reply

