Writing Prompt: Day 205

205.jpgDay 205 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a passionate, but unpopular artist.

Erin: People always looked at me a certain way when I would show them my work. I could see their judgements: I was wasting my time, no one would ever pay me, and I should focus on my “real” job. That didn’t stop me though. My art was for the love of it, not for any other gain. I bleed onto my canvases, sharing my view of the world was my only goal and that is what I was doing.

Shannon: “Why do you always have to get so upset when people don’t understand your pieces? I know you think you’re this creative genius, but welcome to the world. People are allowed to have their opinions. Everybody gets criticized, you’re not the exception,” I blew up after he punched a hole through days of hard work.

“I know,” he snapped the wood panels over his leg a few times. “I know,” he repeated, throwing it to the ground. I’d never seen him this upset as he stopped down again and again until I forced him to stop. “I just want one person to get it,” he pleaded, begging me with his eyes.

“I get it,” I reminded him.

He shook his head, “No, I want someone who doesn’t know me. A person who doesn’t have a reason to get it,” he looked down. “Maybe it’s time to move on,” he shrugged and I saw the pain on his face right before he stormed off.

“What about your work,” I called after him. When he didn’t turn around, I took it upon myself to clean up. That’s when something strange happened. I picked up the canvas he destroyed, expecting the worse, but I saw the exact opposite. He had to see this.

Create a character that is creating something of their own.

Leave a Reply

