Writing Prompt: Day 172

172.jpgDay 172 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write a story about making lemons into lemonade.

Shannon: “So,” I balled my fists in front of my chest in anticipation, hoping I’d get the answer I was waiting for.

He let out a puff of air, deflating his chest and face in the process. Shaking his head he explained, “They decided to go with the other play. We’re out of the competition.”

“What,” my voice raised an octave. “It can’t be over. We put all this work into it,” I couldn’t accept their decision.

“Well it is,” he snapped, pounding his fist into the palm of his other hand. He kept pushing them together and raised them in front of his mouth as he looked to the side. I’d never seen him so disappointed. He was a great director, but it seemed like every chance he’d ever come close to always managed to slip through his fingers.

I couldn’t let him give up. I still believed in him, and I believed that what we created deserved to be seen. “No it’s not. We can still run the show ourselves.”

He shook his head, still defeated, “Yeah, because we have the money pay for that.”

“We don’t need a lot of money. There’s that small amphitheater that no one ever uses in Garden Park. We can piece together cheap costumes from a thrift store. Spread the news to the town and family members, everyone’s always looking for something to do anyway. We could just have fun with it, no pressure,” I smiled, getting myself excited.

His narrowed his eyes on me, “I don’t know. What if people just think it’s a big joke.”

“So what? Whether it’s a big production on a TV show or a little, unknown park show it can still be a joke. You know that better than anyone,” I patted his shoulder. “What do you say?”

He smirked, “I don’t see why we can’t at least try.”

Erin: I tried to not let my tour group know how I found my passion for design. Massively failing in chemistry was daunting. It would scare them. It was true though, and in my experience, was present in many people’s college journeys. Going in confident, but then being blindsided was the norm. Wasting a year of life then growing up was a rite of passage. It was money down the drain and scary, but the lucky ones graduated with a dream and the really lucky ones were prepared by the end to accomplish it.

Make this prompt into a story.

Leave a Reply

