Writing Prompt: Day 161

161.jpgDay 161 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a photographic memory.

Erin: Everyone always thinks that having a photographic memory is convenient, but I find it to be the opposite. There is so much information in my brain to sort through. It is like trying to accomplish anything in a hoarder’s house at times. Plus, there are photographs I would like to burn.

Shannon: I remember everything I’ve ever witnessed in perfect detail, and sometimes I’m not sure if my gift is blessing or curse. Memories play in my head like movies filmed through the precision camera lenses of my eyes, and they can be so wonderful. I often like to replay them, but sometimes they get in the way.

I know when people are lying, and whenever something goes wrong I can go back and find the exact reasons why everything fell apart. I hate myself for doing it, but it just happens. Randomly I’ll be leading my brain through tangents, and suddenly my mind flashes though the past and pauses on a specific point in time where I had missed important details earlier. I go back and see the look of disappointment on someone’s face. I see the one awful statement that so easily slipped out of my mouth. I catch the glossy eyes right before a person’s head turns away.

I have access to all the answers, and I should be grateful, but I can’t help thinking my life would be a lot more enjoyable if I was in the dark like everyone else. Then my memories couldn’t ruin the present, and I could live without picking everything apart.

Write about an above average memory.

Leave a Reply

