Writing Prompt: Day 154

154.jpgDay 154 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Start with the line, “I don’t know how I got here.”

Shannon: I don’t know how I got here. My ears were ringing and my body ached as I laid on the ground looking up at the sky.  I had to pick up my head slowly, and as I expected a sharp pain surged through my skull. I took a few breaths in and out to muster enough courage to turn my head from side to side. I saw a few small patches of flames and other people lying on the ground. Who were they? Why couldn’t I remember what happened? I didn’t even remember what I was doing today. All I could remember was going to sleep the night before.

A man came over to me and got down to help me as I sat up. His mouth was moving but the world was silent. I hadn’t even noticed I’d lost my hearing, and in the moment I couldn’t give into the possibility it could be gone forever. “I can’t hear you,” I explained, realizing how strange it was to talk without hearing my own voice. He gave me a sympathetic look and put his palms up, motioning for me to stay put, before he got up to rush to the next person.

Erin: “I don’t know how I got here.”

“What do you mean?” My boyfriend looked at me like I was completely insane.

“Not like how I got here, I elaborated. But like as a person, how I got to this place.”

“What are you talking about,” I wasn’t surprised when he immediately lost his patience.

“I’m sick of trying to keep you happy,” it spilled out without my conscious decision.

“What?”

“You are so needy. I’m terrified to say the wrong thing or do the wrong thing. So, I try and be easy, which is terribly exhausting, because you are not perceptive in the least. You take and take all of my energy, and give nothing back. I can’t live like this.”

“Well then don’t, I’ll leave,” he got up and stormed out. That was not my plan, but to be honest the second he was out the door I felt my old spirit entering my body. I had been longing for her to come back for years and didn’t even know it.

Put your character somewhere, without them knowing.

Leave a Reply

