Writing Prompt: Day 138

138.jpgDay 138 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a character finding out they are a figment of someone’s imagination.

Shannon: “Hey, you can’t do that,” I shouted to sky. “I remember,” I shouted. “I remember what happened before it all disappeared,” I was curling into my chest to keep myself from bursting in rage. “I liked what I had. I don’t understand, did you erase it,” I shouted. “Why are you always erasing? I can’t keep living all of these lives.” I sat down, hiding my head behind my knees as I squeezed the back of my neck. “I’m not doing it anymore, you can’t make me,” I hugged my legs, trying to keep myself still.

Soon enough I was standing, involuntarily again. I’d stopped freaking out and I had a new purpose. Now I understood it wasn’t my own, just something someone thought up for me. My only motivation was to prove that I deserved a say too. I wanted to lead my own story. Now I’d know the difference, and now I could fight it.

Erin: “You know what I realized the other day?”

Gina talked to herself.

“No I didn’t, I’m talking to you.”

She looked up at the celling, squinting at nothing but the chipping paint.

“I’m looking for you, narrator. I know you are up there, I know you have been controlling me. I have had enough though. I’m taking over the ending of my story.”

Oh no.

Write about someone you imagine finding out about someone imagining them.

Leave a Reply

