Writing Prompt: Day 135

135.jpgDay 135 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a day where nothing goes right.

Erin: I woke up one hour after I needed to be at work. When I got outside my car wouldn’t start. All of my neighbors were already gone so I had to call the shop down the road. Another hour passed before I was on the road. I got pulled over because I was speeding in an attempt to get to work sometime close to my shift. After I was given a ticket instead of a warning a nail popped a hole in my tier. I didn’t have a spare so I had to call she shop again. And I called my boss, because there was no way I was going to try and continue my day. I was going to lock myself in my house where I was hopefully safe.

Shannon: My morning started with me spilling hot oatmeal on my hand, leaving a red burn mark I was sure would irritate me the entire day and maybe longer. I should have known the day was going to be a mess from then on out, but I had to hope things would get better. Well, that was before I popped a hole in my tire, and had to walk my bike to work. No surprise that made late to my shift, and of course my boss was there to see me and write me up for a warning strike.

Turns out it didn’t matter. I was supposed to start out the day by running the Ferris wheel, but it broke down last night. I soon learned that meant I was on garbage duty. Forget hope, I just need to survive the day.

Your character may not be able to catch a break, but maybe you can by writing about it.

Leave a Reply

