Writing Prompt: Day 134

134.jpgDay 134 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a character paving their own path.

Shannon: “What are you doing,” I asked my older sister as I watched her packing her things into a suitcase. “Are we going somewhere? Is it a surprise?”

She pushed her lips to the side and sat me back down on the bed. “Sorry, but this is actually just a trip for me. You should go back to bed. You’ll be tired for school tomorrow.”

“So will you,” I quickly refused.

She smiled, “Do you want to be in on a secret,” she questioned, knowing I loved to know information other people didn’t.

“Yes,” I eagerly got closer, putting my ear up in perfect listening range.

She let out laugh. “First you have to pinky promise not to tell mom and dad,” she held out her finger, “And you’re the one who told me how serious this kind of promise is, so don’t agree if it’s too hard,” she warned.

She sounded like she didn’t think I could do it, so I had to prove her wrong. “I can keep your secret,” I quickly wrapped my pinky around hers before she could take the offer back.

“I’m running away,” she quickly revealed, carefully watching me, witnessing the fear wash over my face. “It’s not that I don’t love all of you anymore. I just don’t have any freedom to live my own life. I can pretend I can ask for it, and someone could give it to me, but I feel bound by everything I’m connected to. I just want to break free. Do you understand,” she questioned, nervously.

I shook my head, “Don’t go,” I moved forward to hug her, trying to persuade her to stay the only way I knew how.

She seemed torn. “If I stay I’m living someone else’s life. It’s a fine life and I’m sure it would have great moments and I’d be with you guys. If I go I’ll finally be free to find out what I’m capable of. I can’t live with myself if I don’t find out.”

I didn’t understand a word she was saying. I only knew that I wanted her to be here in the morning, so I started crying into her stomach.

“Do you feel that,” she questioned.

“What?” I looked up at her.

“That thing that makes you cry,” she explained and I nodded. “I feel that everyday I stay hear, pretending to be happy as somebody I’m not. I want you to feel better, do you want me to feel better too,” she smiled, holding me tighter.

I nodded, reluctantly.

“Than you have to let me go.”

Erin: “Do you have your homework,” Mrs. Ray asked Ron when she got to his desk.

“No ma’am,” he answered honestly.

“Again,” she sighed. “Please see me after class.”

He did. “You wanted to talk to me.”

“You have not been doing your homework for weeks. What is up with you Ron?”

“Well, I’ve been observing my fellow classmates and have realized the effect homework has on our grades is heavily disproportional to our tests. I’m only going to be young once, and don’t see the point of wasting my time on it. I can do well on the test by just coming to class, so that is what I plan on doing.”

She was not sure what to say to him, so she just dismissed him, planning on following up at a later date, though it never came. Honestly, he wasn’t wrong and if he wanted his grade to reflect his choice that was his right.

Write about a character finding their own route.

Leave a Reply

