Writing Prompt: Day 125

125.pngDay 125 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a character who is loved by all or feared by all.

Erin: My best friend was basically everyone’s best friend. I would be lying if I didn’t say that it bothered me slightly. A part of me felt like my best friend was a myth in that she was a different person for everyone. I tried to have faith in the fact that the version of her I got was the truest, but I don’t know that a true version of her existed.

Shannon: “So what’s it like,” I questioned.

“What is what like,” he didn’t bother to guess as he sat down on the couch with a big smile.

“Being everybody’s favorite person. They all love you out there,” I shared my observation even though I was sure he already knew. “Come on, it’s got to feel good.”

He shook his head and a caught a slight lip twitch followed by furrowed brow that bounced back quickly. “That’s not true. I know people who don’t like me.”

“You mean you know people who used to not like you, before you were famous and rich and whatever else makes people blindly like people,” I corrected.

He looked down and started futzing with his hands. “You don’t blindly like me, so there’s one.”

“Yeah, but I’m family so you can’t trick me into believing you’re perfect, or that you deserve all of this.” I gestured to the door.

He breathed out, “I don’t actually like being everybody’s favorite,” he revealed, conflicted.

“Really?” Now I was intrigued.

“I don’t have to earn anything. Almost anything I want is handed to me. I can’t even tell if I’m good, or if I’m just familiar. I used to be a scrapper, and I used to like being a scrapper. Even laughter is handed to me. It used to feel really good when I got a genuine laugh from people. I used to have to earn it, but now people laugh when I’m not even telling a joke,” he explained, with a frustration he was still trying to mask, even with me.

Is your character surrounded by love or hate?

Leave a Reply

