Writing Prompt: Day 123

123 (1).pngDay 123 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about an immortal character or a character that has one day left to live.

Erin: “Want to do something,” Glen asked kicking my leg.

“No,” I gave him just enough time of day to blow him off.

“So, you are just going to sit and play video games then,” he accused.

“Why not? I have an eternity to do just that and will still have the lifespan of the earth to check off all of the things on everyone’s bucket list ever,” nothing really seemed special with the knowledge that I would see most everything more than once in a lifetime.

“Not with me,” Glen pointed out his own mortality.

“Your right,” I gave in putting down my controller. “What do you want to do?”

“Everything as soon as possible. I don’t know how long I get,” he reminded an I knew I shouldn’t be jealous of that fact.

Shannon: “You have to go. Please just go,” he put his hand on my back to lead me to the door. Before he could force me all the way I resisted.

Turning back to face him, I saw his face turned cold. “I don’t understand, did I say something? We were having a nice night. Why are you kicking me out,” I demanded an answer.

He was avoiding my eyes, “It’s me, ok? You didn’t do anything wrong,” he shook his head and attempted to direct me away again.

I didn’t budge, “So you need space for tonight, or how long?”

He shrugged, not saying anything and grabbed my hand, resorting to tugging me out the door.

“I’ll only leave if you tell me why I have to go, and if I actually believe you. Otherwise I’ll be back and I’ll keep bugging you until you tell me.”

“Then I’ll move,” he quickly argued.

“Then I’ll find you,” I bluffed.

“No you won’t. No one ever does,” he responded so seriously, I didn’t know what to say. By the look on his face, I could tell he’d let that one slip out accidentally.

“Who doesn’t find you,” I eventually broke the silence.

“Just go,” he pleaded.

I shook my head, “If you’re so sure I’m never going to find you again, why not just tell me?”

“It’s not safe,” he mumbled, meeting my gaze.

“I don’t have any proof that you even exist outside of our interactions, because you wanted it that way. Who would I tell? No one would believe me,” I hoped I was persuasive enough. “Come on you want to tell someone. Tell me and I’ll disappear forever,” I egged him on.

He closed his eyes, contemplating, and then opened them to look at me, still a little conflicted. “I’m immortal, and that’s why you have to go.”

That was not what I was expecting to hear. “I get it. You’re trying to play the crazy card. You want me to end it.”

He huffed and rolled his eyes before going to the door, “You got me.”

“Oh wow, you’re serious,” I suddenly didn’t need to question it. He nodded. “But immortal doesn’t mean you have to ditch me. I still don’t get it.”

He leaned against the wall, slowly pressing his head back. “I’m starting to have feelings for you,” he revealed, “I can’t do that. I can’t lose anybody else. I’ve had to watch everyone I ever cared about die, so I stopped finding people to care about years ago. I’m sorry. I know it’s not fair, but please go,” I barely spotted the tear sliding down his face.

I felt bad for making him say it out loud. “Could you try not to care,” I offered.

“I already was,” he lowered his head and opened the door.

How long does your character have?

Leave a Reply

