Writing Prompt: Day 109

109.jpgDay 109 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Have your character consider their odds.

Erin: “Let’s get a lottery ticket,” my roommate suggested.

“Nope.”

“Why not,” she ran into my room and started bouncing on my bed.

“We don’t have any money,” I reminded.

“Exactly,” she screamed.

“We can’t afford to throw any money away.”

“We’re not going to, we’re going to win,” she lied.

“Were going to lose like 99.9999% of the population.”

“We’re going to lose, so were going to play,” she cheered and ran away before I could argue.

Shannon: If I do this I don’t know what I’ll get out of it. What are the odds anything will actually change? What are the odd things will just stay the same, or get worse? Then I get my hopes up for nothing. It’s not like I have much choice. Nothing is going to change if I don’t do anything, but what happens to me when I fail?  People keep advising me it couldn’t hurt to try, but rejection is never fun, and it’s never as easy as advertised. I guess over time you just get used to it. Well forget the odds, and the pain, because I’m going for it. 

Are the odds in your character’s favor?

Leave a Reply

