Writing Prompt: Day 97

97.jpgDay 97 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a suspicious delivery.

Erin: “Is this for you,” my roommate asked setting a plain brown box on the counter in front of me.

“Doubtful, who’s it from.”

“Don’t you think if I knew that information I would know who this was for,” she grumbled grabbing a knife.

“Wait your just going to open it,” I worried snatching it away from her.

“Um yes,” she placed her knife down before grabbing it back.

“It could be something dangerous,” I elaborated.

“Who do you think we are? The president,” she scoffed running the blade down the middle of the tape.

“No,” I shouted before she pulled out a blanket.

“It’s just merch from the place who did our yardwork,” she showed me the garden print covered in the logo of Greener on Our Side. “Get over yourself,” she tossed the gift in my direction.

Shannon: “Is your name Catherine Stone,” the man outside my screen door questioned before I could open it.

“Yes,” I replied reluctantly, since I wasn’t expecting any visitors.

“I was told to give this package to you,” he held up a box.

“Do you know who it’s from?” I open the door and he handed it over, seeming to be in a bit of a rush. I quickly inspected the outside for any information but it was just a bare box with my name and address.

“No. We don’t know where it started. I got it from someone who got it from someone else. We get paid if the box and all of its contents get to you fully intact,” he explained with a cringe and a shrug.

“I hope that’s not as creepy as it sound,” I bit my bottom lip.

“For your sake me too,” he agreed. “Well good luck,” he said it genuinely but seemed happy to ditch the package on me at the same time.

After I thanked him, he left and I carried the box to my dining room table. I sat and started pealing back the tape, too anxious to waste time getting out my box cutter. I ripped the flap open, to reveal a sea of red fabric. With the suspicious delivery, the color freaked me out a bit, so I slowly pulled it out, expecting the worst.

Luckily it was just a dress, and with the quality of the fabric and the detail work, it was an expensive one at that. A letter fell to floor as I released the skirt to view its length. The dress looked like something someone would wear on a red carpet, and not to any of the events in my life.

I laid it over my chair and picked up letter. It was short but it contained a ticket to a ballet performance. The note only said: An old friend requests your company to the event on the enclosed ticket. He will be waiting in seat 202, right next to your own, and only asks you to spare your time, as everything else you will need is included in this box. Your presence is highly sought after, and he guarantees the night will not be easy to forget.

I smiled. I had a feeling I knew exactly who would put something like this together, no matter how sneaky he thought he was.

Write about when something doesn’t seem right.

Leave a Reply

