Writing Prompt: Day 95

95.jpgDay 95 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about untapped potential.

Erin: “I don’t want to have to fail Bobby,” our son’s teacher Ms. Gilligan explained. “However, if he doesn’t start to turn in his assignment I will have no choice.”

“We don’t know what to do with him anymore,” my wife groaned.

“His entire life he hasn’t been the studious type,” I added.

“He is the smartest kid I know,” Ms. Gilligan took us both off guard.

“What do you mean. He has been held back two years,” I reminded.

“Well maybe if he had been moved up two years he wouldn’t have shut down.”

“Shut down,” my wife’s voice rose in concern.

“Bobby knows the material. Bobby knows the material better than I do. He has a photographic memory. He can read the text book faster than one would think possible. It took me a while to realize he was doing that portion of the assignment. He is literally a little supper absorbent sponge,” she was gesturing dramatically with her hands.

“So why is he not breezing through the material,” I prodded.

“He’s not excited. He has no interest. When I ask him about the material he knows all of the topics. I just can’t get him to take the time to write that knowledge down.”

“What do you suggest we do,” my wife asked.

“We need to push him to a higher level of learning, I can create more abstract material for him, but he should be tested for potential transfer to a gifted program.”

Shannon: “Whoa,” a woman exclaimed loudly, as she twisted in her chair to look at me in awe. I turned my head to her, waiting for explanation. “I’m sorry for eavesdropping, but I’ve kind of built my career off of it. Is that you regular voice,” she questioned.

Of course this was about my voice. Strangers have never subtle about it. “Yeah,” I shrugged, “I know it’s kind of goofy.’

“It’s kind of a brand.” She got up to add her chair to our table. “I’m Megan by the way,” she introduce herself to only me.

“Heather,” I went with it, shaking her hand. No one ever started a conversation with kind words about the way I spoke.

“I’m an agent for voice actors, and don’t worry I’m not a fake. I only make a commission if you get the gig, but with that voice you could be animated characters, or you could be in commercials. Have you thought about radio, because people love unique these days?”

“I’ve never acted before,” I shook my head. “How do you know if I’d be any good? Plus, half the voice actors nowadays are huge celebrities,” I tried to find every excuse to talk myself out of believing I had a chance.

“Sure you can’t be the star right away, but movies have a lot characters. And, it’s basically just talking. A cool sound can’t be taught, and it’s a great career. Please think about it, and call me when you decide,” she handed me her business card and I took it. “Or you know, just tell before you leave, because we both know you’re not going to pass this up,” she flashed an encouraging smile.

“I’ll think about it,” I nodded with a giggle.

You don’t know what you are capable of until you try, so try tackling this topic.

Leave a Reply

