Writing Prompt: Day 84

84.jpgDay 84 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write a story starting with the end and working towards the beginning.

Shannon: Have you ever gotten to a point in your life where you had to ask yourself what dumb decision lead me here? Well, I’m going through one of these moments at the time as I’m stuck dangling from a tree branch.

Okay so running up the tree to get away from a bull wasn’t one of my most well thought out ideas. Neither was participating in this bull race in the first place, but sometimes I do these things to remind myself that I’m still alive and that I still have some fight in me to survive.

I have these moments where I question things and let all that doubt pile so I have to carry it with me. Maybe deep down I like the added weight. The last straw was when my girlfriend of two years decided we needed to break up. A few months before that, my best friend revealed he was taking a job in another country. It’s his dream career, but all I heard was that he was leaving me behind.

Still, the first tragedy in the trifecta was the hardest to bear. My dad died and my world went dull, nothing could make me stop missing him. I keep thinking about how the day before I had no clue what life had in store for me.

Erin: There was a bright light and I was brought to life.

A truck drove away from our car.

We sang our hearts out to the radio that was playing our song.

We turned off the radio.

We got out of the car.

Ben insisted, “I’m alright to drive.”

We entered the bar.

I paid the tab, rounding up significantly to avoid being cheap on the tip due to my impaired math abilities.

I watched as he started with his 15th drink.

As he got closer and closer to his first drink we discussed how he lost his job.

We left the bar hoping to make life a little more bearable.

Try to turn one of your stories on it’s head.

Leave a Reply

