Writing Prompt: Day 74

74.jpgDay 74 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Listen to Hurt by Johnny Cash.

Shannon: “I’m here,” an aged woman appeared behind Benjamin’s screen door.

“What? You crazy witch, you came back for me,” his old bones brought him to the door slowly, but he was awe for each step.

“Hon I told you many years ago how this works. I appear when you need me. When your heart is calling for me. So why am I here again? I thought I already gave you everything you wanted,” he opened the door and she glided in. “I gave you fame” she flashed to the fireplace before he could blink, “Money,” she picked up the framed picture of him surrounded by his family. “Love,” she turned the image toward him. “Power,” she hummed. “What did you do with all of the gifts I gave you? Why are you so empty now.”

“You know my shortcomings. I hurt good things. They all leave in the end. I can’t keep them, but I always miss them.”

She sighed. “So what is your wish this time? How are you going to fix it,” she questioned.

“Can I start over? Can I go back in time to the moment where everything went wrong? Let me fix my mistakes,” he begged.

She turned to put the picture back and paused to stare at it for a while. “It doesn’t often help,” she spoke to the wall and then turned. “Most events that happen to you will happen no matter what changes you try to make. You may just relive the heartache again,” she warned as her fierce eyes analyzed him.

“It’s worth the risk,” he responded without hesitation.

“Then yes. I can send you back in time.”

Erin: “You were at the gym for seven hours,” my therapist asked.

“Correct,” I agreed.

“What were you doing at the gym,” she asked what to me sounded like a pretty dumb question for someone who claimed to be a doctor.

“Working out,” I shrugged.

“In what context. What type of workouts,” she started to make a little more sense?

“Running and lifting weights. Swapping every hour,” I clarified my typical workout routine.

“Is that regime pretty hard on your body,” she questioned.

“Yes, cardio and weights mixing can be quite the challenge,” I admitted. “But I don’t get as sore as I used to. Before one hour of intense weights would make me start to feel some tenderness. Now I have to leave because the gym is closing and I still have to wake up the next day feeling completely the same as I always do.”

“When did you start to have that kind of endurance?”

“I don’t know. The last time I felt sore was a few months after Candice’s death,” I sighed. “Ever since I don’t feel anything. If I work out enough though I should be able to get that feeling back. Or get any type of feeling back.”

Songs can be emotional, so can your writing, right?

Leave a Reply

