Writing Prompt: Day 62

62.jpgDay 62 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Use the words: glow, wild, and invasion.

Erin: There was a red glow in the distance. “What’s that,” Elie asked tugging on my shirt.

“I don’t know,” I whispered walking slightly closer. The glowing started to pulsate.

“Who’s that,” Elie pointed to the creature making it out of the light and casting a large lopsided shadow.

“I don’t know and I don’t really want to find out,” I hoister her into my arms and started running further and further into the wild.

“Mommy what’s happening,” she started crying and her arms wrapped tight around my neck.

“Nothing we’re going to be okay,” I lied fully aware that we were in the middle of our prophesied invasion.

Shannon: “Did you witness the invasion,” I questioned the guy lying on in the cot next to mine. He was turned on his side, so I could only see his back, but I hoped he was still awake. I needed someone to talk to, and it would have to be a stranger. In this huge room, I didn’t see one person that I recognized. I prayed I wasn’t the only survivor in my family, and that we just found refuge in different locations. I had to keep telling myself that I’d find them again, otherwise I wouldn’t have the strength to go on.

“I was there,” the voice revealed after a pause. He turned his body to face me. I couldn’t see him perfectly in the darkness, but there was a faded red glow reflecting off his face from a dim light nearby. I could tell he was around my age, as were most of the faces I saw nearby my bed as I walked in. Maybe they were organizing all the misfits by age. “Were you there,” he questioned.

“No, but no one will tell me what happened. Can you tell me,” I begged for a better understanding.

“It’s not something you want to know,” he tried to stop me there.

“I believe you but I’m so confused. I don’t know how bad it is. I don’t even know what the enemy looks like. Please, there has to be something you can tell me,” I tried not to appear too desperate, but I was failing.

He rolled his shoulders, looking like he was struggling with the memory. “They are like no creatures I’ve ever seen before. I don’t know how to describe them. They are not more human or more animal. They speak another language, and they are all eight feet tall and very strong. I got a look into one of their eyes and they were wild in the way they didn’t seem to be searching for anything in particular. They just wanted to kill. You don’t have to worry about them blending in. You’ll know when you see one,” his description gave me what I asking for, but didn’t put me at ease.

“Do they have weapons,” I whispered.

“They are the weapon,” he clarified.

Multiply these words into many words.

Leave a Reply

