Writing Prompt: Day 59

59.jpgDay 59 of 365 Days of Writing Prompts: Write about a character finding a stray dog.

Erin: The day I found Skip changed the course of my life forever. He became such an integral part of my life that nothing was ever the same. When I went to local ball games he initiated meeting new people. He introduced me to many of my friends. They came for Skip, but they soon fell for me too.

When I was nervous about moving out on my own, he cuddled up with me and helped me fall asleep. Then when my mother was no longer there to wake me and I just turned my alarm off he filled her role of sitting on me until I woke.

Not to mention the fact that from day one he changed the course or my life. Or extended the course of my life. Without Skip I would have died on the side of the road and the neighbor a few blocks down wouldn’t have called an ambulance until it was too late. I didn’t just save a stray dog, a stray dog saved me too, and saved me first.

Shannon: Hey little buddy, it’s ok,” I tried to bribe a stray dog who was hiding under my porch by holding out a piece of sandwich meat. He kept panting and looking around, like he thought he was invisible, but then his nose caught wind of the smell. He started to slowly crawling forward, but he was very hesitant, clearly struggling internally, making it look like this was the most difficult decision of his life.

“There you go,” he finally got close enough to lick it from my hand. I pet the back of his neck. He was definitely a mutt with his course gray fur and no disguisable traits. No collar either. The touch didn’t bug him and when I ran out of food he didn’t walk away. He just started licking my face, weakly, but thankfully.

“Aww,” I smiled, and eventually had to break away from the dog kisses. “You want to come inside,” I questioned, at the same time waking up to the fact that I was speaking to an animal. It was better than the silent, confused look he was giving me.

I held the door open a little while and he followed me inside. I didn’t own pets, so I had no dog food to give him. I started tearing up some bread and he followed me over to the couch. I patted the cushion, but he wouldn’t jump up. He just rested his head on the seat, with adorable begging eyes.

When I was about to go to bed I pilled a few blankets and pillows together for him on the floor, but he didn’t seem to understand. Instead he just kept following me, and I didn’t encourage it but he hopped onto the bed without hesitation. “So couch is bad, but bed is okay. I hope I eventually get to meet your owner,” I rubbed his head.

Write about your character’s best friend, man or woman.

Leave a Reply

